Bubble Painting

Yesterday, I used bubble paint for the first time with kids.  I had done it before in workshops, but I had never gone the distance and actually tried it out with kiddos.  Needless to say, it was a bit messier with children then with adults!  But getting messy doing art is part of the fun!

I went on pinterest (I know some of you might be thinking that I live on pinterest) to find a bubble paint recipe.  I had an idea of how to make it, but I just wanted to be sure.  Anyway, I used WhiMysy love’s blog found at:http://whimsy-girl.blogspot.com/2010/08/summer-break-day-83.html  I did change up the paint used.  I used some tempera paint in place of the acrylic.  I also found that I had to use more water then she had listed.  I am not one for recipes, but I used a glob of tempera paint, a squeeze of dish soap, and a quick splash of water (or two depending on the size of the container used).

Here is our paint in different size containers.  I didn’t have any disposable containers, so I used what I had.  The cups were not hard to clean since half of what was in them was soap!

Mixing Bubble PaintHere we have paint with a squirt of dish soap and a bit of water.  We also mixed colors as the tempera paint I have is primary colors.

  Laine helped out in mixing the paint!  I love to have helpers!!!

Laine went a little overboard blowing bubbles (but it’s easy to do!)

Lanie and I tried out blowing bubbles in the bubble paint.  I think our faces ended up with a bit of paint as well, but whose going to know?

Our results were down right beautiful!  Why wouldn’t they be????  Lucas and Lanie did a wonderful job.  With Lucas (he is about 22 months), I had him pop the bubbles with his paper.  He also popped the bubbles with his fingers!

Lucas

Our paint did end up a little light when we first started, but that’s an easy fix.  Just add a little more paint!

Leave a Reply

